What are Key Stages?

The term ‘Key Stages’ refers to the different stages of education. Schools usually identify four ‘Key Stages’ as well as an ‘Early Years Foundation Stage’ (children in Nursery and Reception).

Here at Tynsel Parkes we have:

Early Years Foundation Stage – Nursery & Reception Class
Key Stage 1 – Year 1 and Year 2
Lower Key Stage 2 – Year 3 and Year 4

To complete Key Stage 2 (Year 5 and Year 6), children transfer to a middle school at the end of Year 4.

Below you can find information about children’s learning organised by Key Stages

Tynsel Parkes CE Primary Academy’s Long Term Topic Plan – 2020/2021

Early Years Foundation Stage

Nursery Autumn 1 Autumn 2 

Reception Autumn 1  Autumn 2

Key Stage 1

Year 1 Autumn 1 Autumn 2

Year 2 Autumn 1 Autumn 2

Lower Key Stage 2

Year 3 Autumn 1 & 2

Year 4 Autumn 1  Autumn 2

For more information about how you can help your child to learn at home, please look at the Learning at Home page.

We are proud to be a part of SUA Trust

Join the Trust

SUAT supports and leads in the set-up of new academies joining the partnership. The sevices provided by the central support function cover both educational and non-educational support. In terms of educational support, SUAT is linked to the School of Education of Staffordshire University, which is an outstanding ITT provider.