01889 221920 office@tynselparkesacademy.co.uk


What are Key Stages?

The term ‘Key Stages’ refers to the different stages of education. Schools usually identify four ‘Key Stages’ as well as an ‘Early Years Foundation Stage’ (children in Nursery and Reception).

Here at Tynsel Parkes we have:

Early Years Foundation Stage - Nursery & Reception Class
Key Stage 1 - Year 1 and Year 2
Lower Key Stage 2 - Year 3 and Year 4

To complete Key Stage 2 (Year 5 and Year 6), children transfer to a middle school at the end of Year 4.


Please find below year group presentations to tell you a little more about your child's class, homework, expectations etc  



Year 1

Year 2

Year 3

Year 4


Below you can find information about children’s learning organised by Key Stages.

Tynsel Parkes CE Primary Academy’s Long Term Topic Plan – 2020/2021

Early Years Foundation Stage

Nursery         Autumn 1           Autumn 2 

Reception     Autumn 1            Autumn 2

Key Stage 1

Year 1           Autumn 1            Autumn 2

Year 2           Autumn 1            Autumn 2


Lower Key Stage 2

Year 3           Autumn 1 & 2

Year 4           Autumn 1             Autumn 2


For more information about how you can help your child to learn at home, please look at the Learning at Home page.